Communications Workers of America


CWA represents 700,000 workers in private and public sector employment in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico in 1,200 chartered CWA local unions. In 10,000 communities across the United States, CWA members work in telecommunications and information technology, the airline industry, news media, broadcast and cable television, education, health care and public service, law enforcement, manufacturing and other fields.

Collective Bargaining

Among CWA major employers are AT&T; Verizon; General Electric; the New York Times and Wall Street Journal; United Airlines and American Airlines; NBC and ABC television networks; the Canadian Broadcasting Co.; the University of California, the state of New Jersey and various law enforcement agencies across the country.


CWA’s Nationally elected officers are President External link opens in new tab or windowChris Shelton and Secretary-Treasurer External link opens in new tab or windowSara Steffens. Other members on CWA’s External link opens in new tab or windowexecutive board, which governs the union between conventions, are: Vice Presidents Dennis Trainor, District 1 (New York); Ed Mooney, District 2-13 (Philadelphia); Richard Honeycutt, District 3 (Atlanta); Linda Hinton, District 4 (Cleveland); Claude Cummings, District 6 (Austin); Brenda Roberts, District 7 (Denver); and Tom Runnion, District 9 (Sacramento).

Also on the Executive Board are the vice presidents of CWA’s External link opens in new tab or windowsectors and industries and other leaders: Lisa Bolton, Telecommunications & Technologies; Brooks Sunkett, Public, Health Care and Education Workers; Charles Braico, Broadcast and Cable Television Workers Sector; Bernie Lunzer, The Newspaper Guild-CWA; Jim Clark, IUE-CWA Industrial Division; Sara Nelson, Association of Flight Attendants-CWA; Martin O’Hanlon, Director, TNG-SCA Canada; and Dan Wasser, executive officer, Printing and Media Workers Sector. At-large diversity members of the executive board are Carolyn Wade, Northeast region; Vera Mikell, Southeast region; Anetra Session, Central region; Frank Arce, Western region.

CWA Local 6327 Executive Board


Jackie Arnette, AT&T/Broadband Tech Care - Steward.